Institutional Biosafety Committee
Committee reports to: Vice President for Research and Economic Development

The existence of an Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is required by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for research involving recombinant and synthetic nucleic acid molecules. Mississippi State University (MSU) has expanded the scope of the IBC to include oversight, administration and review of University policies and research involving any microorganism, biologic toxin, or other biologic material which may pose a threat to humans, animals, plants or the environment.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Balbalian, Ms. Clarissa J. Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Entomology & Plant Pathology Chair 2020
Brooks, Dr. John USDA ARS 2020
Huston, Dr. Carla College of Veterinary Medicine 2020
Jernigan, Mr. Curtis Community Representative 2019
Karsi, Dr. Attila Basic Sciences 2021
Lucas, Ms. Christina Community Representative 2020
Olivier, Dr. Alicia Pathobiology & Population Medicine 2021
Parsons, Mr. Michael Director, EHS Ex-Officio
Peacock, Dr. Trent Biosafety Officer (Contact Person) Ex-Officio
Pharr, Dr. G. Todd College of Veterinary Medicine Vice Chair 2020
Stokes, John Mr. College of Veterinary Medicine 2021
Story, Dr. Clifton Medical Director, Longest Student Health Center 2019
Strickland, Ms. Kacey Director, Research Compliance Ex-Officio
Thornton, Dr. Justin Biological Sciences 2019